Submit Your Question Here

Question by Greg

Submitted by: A YouTube Viewer

Answer:

Link to the YouTube Episode

Question by Shane

Submitted by: A YouTube Viewer

Answer:

Link to the YouTube Episode

Question by Ben

Submitted by: A YouTube Viewer

Answer:

Link to the YouTube Episode

Question by John

Submitted by: A YouTube Viewer

Answer:

Link to the YouTube Episode

Can a Player shoot free-throws after getting their 5th foul?

Submitted by: Kevin Swan

Player A1 is fouled and will be awarded two free-throws. After the foul, A1 taunts B1. The officials assess a Player Technical Foul to A1, which is this 5th foul. What happens next?

Answer:

When a player receives a 5th foul, and the coach is properly notified, they are disqualified from further participation in the game. In this case, the player will not attempt the free-throws. Rather, their substitute will attempt them.

Link to the YouTube Episode

Can you Explain Hand Checking in NFHS?

Submitted by: John Merritt, Ohio (via https://abetterofficial.com/question/) Website

Can you explain “hand checking” for NFHS? Is one hand, 2 hands or none allowed to contact ANY offensive player, but primarily the ball handler? I know actual holding is illegal, but where’s the line?

Answer:

Hi John,

NFHS added rule 10-7-12 to address this:

ART. 12 . . . The following acts constitute a foul when committed against a ball handler/dribbler. A player becomes a ball handler when he/she receives the ball. This would include a player in a post position.

a. Placing two hands on the player.
b. Placing an extended arm bar on the player.
c. Placing and keeping a hand on the player.
d. Contacting the player more than once with the same hand or alternating hands.

By rule, doing any of the above constitutes illegal contact.  That is the rule.

Our job is to figure out how to apply the rules in our games!

Link to the YouTube Episode

Defender Contacts the Thrower During a Throw-in

Submitted by: Hartung Family Farms (via YouTube)

What’s the penalty if player B1 contacts A1 on a designated spot throw in?

Answer:

Contacting the thrower during a throw-in is an Intentional Foul by rule. If the defender broke the plane it would also incur a Delay of Game Warning to the Team.

Link to the YouTube Episode

On throw-in defensive player ties up the thrower!

Submitted by: Chas B (From Youtube)

A player extends the ball across the plain and a tie up ensues!!! If A is out during the tie up….wouldn’t he be out? You said it would be a held ball?

Answer:

It’s a quirk in the rules for sure. Thrower standing out-of-bounds has the ball tied up by a player inbounds. How can that be?

Link to the YouTube Episode

If a player has blood on their uniform can they switch jerseys with a teammate?

Submitted by: Patrick Pickens (via YouTube)

I ran into a situation a few years ago where a team wanted to switch jerseys with another player because of blood. The opposing coach was adamant that this not legal and I honestly didn’t know the answer. I decided to allow the switch because I would rather be in trouble for allowing a player to play vs not allowing a player to play. I was very relieved when I found a case book scenario which showed that I guessed right.

Answer:

Patrick that is fantastic. The comment on the case play is a real North Star to guide us:
COMMENT: The spirit and intent of the rule is to do everything possible to allow the player to use a different jersey and return without penalty. However, identical numbers shall not be allowed on the same team.

Link to the YouTube Episode

Is the division line in the frontcourt or backcourt?

Submitted by: Mae2759 (via YouTube)

Question – is the division line in the front court or back court? Or neither?

Answer:

The division line is in each team’s backcourt by rule.

Rule 4 SECTION 13 COURT AREAS
ART. 1 . . . A team’s frontcourt consists of that part of the court between its end line and the nearer edge of the division line, including its basket and the inbounds part of the backboard.
ART. 2 . . . A team’s backcourt consists of the rest of the court, including the entire division line and the opponent’s basket and inbounds part of the opponent’s backboard.

Link to the YouTube Episode