Basket interference occurs when a player:

ART. 1 . . . Touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket.

ART. 2 . . . Touches the ball while any part of the ball is within the imaginary cylinder which has the basket ring as its lower base.

EXCEPTION: In Arts. 1 or 2, if a player has his/her hand legally in contact with the ball, it is not a violation if such contact with the ball continues after it enters the imaginary cylinder or if in such action, the player touches the basket. Dunking or stuffing is legal and is not basket interference.

ART. 3 . . . Touches the ball outside the cylinder while reaching through the basket from below.

ART. 4 . . . Pulls down a movable ring so that it contacts the ball before the ring returns to its original position.


A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training


Get the Best Training
for your group

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!

Default Coffee Donation Form

Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: $5.00