...

Episode 16 Quick Quiz - Lightning Round 10 Quick Questions

Welcome to your BRE Episode 15 Quick Quiz

Email
1. 
[backcourt]
A1 releases a throw-in pass. A2 jumps from Team A's frontcourt, catches the ball while in the air, then lands first with a foot in the front court and then with a foot in the backcourt. The officials rule a Backcourt Violation on Team A. Were the officials correct?

2. 
[backcourt]
A1 attempts a three-point shot; the ball hits the backboard and is batted backwards by A2. While still in A's frontcourt, A3 touches the ball with both hands but muffs the ball which bounces into A's backcourt. A3 is the first to touch in the backcourt. The officials rule this to be a Legal Play. Were the officials correct?

3. 
[backcourt]
While making a throw-in near the 28-foot mark in Team A's frontcourt, A1 passes the ball to A2 in the frontcourt near the division line. A2 muffs the ball and the ball bounces directly into the backcourt, where A2 retrieves it. The officials rule a Backcourt Violation on Team A. Were the officials correct?

4. 
[backcourt]
A1 is dribbling in the backcourt. As dribbler A1 nears the division line they bounce the ball in the frontcourt then step into the frontcourt with right foot, then backs up and dribbles again in the backcourt. The officials rule this to be a Backcourt Violation on Team A. Were the officials correct?

5. 
[backcourt]
A1 is dribbling in the frontcourt. B2 reaches and deflects the ball which hits A1's knee and caroms into the backcourt. A1 runs to the backcourt and is the first to touch it. The official give the approved NFHS signal for a deflection and rules this a legal play. Were the officials correct?

6. 
[backcourt]
A1 is making a throw-in along the sideline in team A's backcourt. A1 makes the throw-in towards A2 who is standing in team A's frontcourt. B1 deflects the throw-pass after release. A2 jumps from team A's frontcourt, catches the pass in the air and lands in the backcourt. The officials rule that this is a Legal Play. Were the officials correct?

7. 
[backcourt]
A1 has the ball for throw-in on the endline under their basket. A1 releases a long throw-in pass to A2 who catches the ball straddling the division line. The officials rule this to be a legal play. Were the officials correct?

8. 
[backcourt]
A3 attempts a try for goal that misses. The rebound is batted by multiple players in an attempt to control the ball. The ball is ultimately caught by A1 after they jumped from the backcourt and caught the ball in the air. The officials ruled this to be a legal play. Were the officials correct?

9. 
[backcourt]
A1's throw-in pass is deflected by defender B1 and the ball becomes loose. A2 dives for the ball and is on the floor on the division line when they grab the ball. The officials rule a Backcourt Violation. Were the officials correct?

Basketball Rules Expert Podcast

Show Episode Link

podcast Episode Link

Watch the Episode on YouTube

Listen to the Podcast Episode

Recent Episodes

Get Our Best

All Rights Reserved. A Better Official 2020.

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!

Default Coffee Donation Form

$
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: $5.00