Close this search box.

NFHS Case Play 9.8 Situation D

Team A is in control in its backcourt for seven seconds. A1 throws the ball toward A2 in the frontcourt. B1 jumps from Team A’s:
(a) frontcourt; or
(b) backcourt and while in the air bats the ball back to A1 in A’s backcourt. Does this give Team A 10 more seconds to get the ball to the frontcourt?

Yes, in
(a), a new count starts because B1 had frontcourt location when touching the ball thus giving the ball frontcourt location. In
(b), the original count continues as Team A is still in control and the ball has not gone to frontcourt.

NFHS Rules Reference:

(4-4-2; 4-3; 4-35-1)


A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training

We Good?
Drop a Testimonial?


Get the Best Training
for your group

latest youtube

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!