...

NFHS Case Play 9.8 Situation B

Team A has control of the ball for eight seconds in A’s backcourt when A1 passes the ball toward Team A’s frontcourt. The official’s count continues. The ball strikes the floor in A’s frontcourt and stays there without being touched by any player. Should the count continue after the ball touches in frontcourt?

No. The backcourt count should be terminated as soon as the ball has frontcourt location by touching the floor in Team A’s frontcourt.

NFHS Rules Reference:

(4-4-1; 4-4-2)

Got question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!

Default Coffee Donation Form

$
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: $5.00