Search
Close this search box.

NFHS Case Play 9.5

A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against:
(a) his/her own backboard;
(b) the opponent’s backboard; or
(c) an official and catches the ball after each.

Legal in
(a); a team’s own backboard is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. In
(b) and
(c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board.

NFHS Rules Reference:

(4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19)

About

A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training

We Good?
Drop a Testimonial?

got
gear?

Get the Best Training
for your group

latest youtube

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!