Close this search box.

NFHS Case Play 9.2.2 Situation A

Thrower A1:
(a) causes the ball to carom from the wall behind him/her, or from the floor out of bounds and then into the court;
(b) caroms the ball from the back of the backboard to a player in the court; or
(c) throws the ball against the side or the front face of the backboard, after which it rebounds into the hands of A2.

Violation in
(a) and
(b), since the throw touched an object out of bounds. The throw-in in
(c) is legal. The side and front face of the backboard are inbounds and, in this specific situation, are treated the same as the floor inbounds.


A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training

We Good?
Drop a Testimonial?


Get the Best Training
for your group

latest youtube

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!