NFHS Case Play 9.11

Both A1 and B1 jump to grab a rebound at the basket of Team A. Each has a hand on the ball which is entirely outside of the cylinder above the basket. While both have contact with the ball, it is carried or forced into the cylinder above the basket.

There is no violation by either player for having hand(s) on the ball while it is in the cylinder or basket in this situation.

NFHS Rules Reference:

(4-6; 9-11 EXCEPTION)


A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training


Get the Best Training
for your group

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!

Default Coffee Donation Form

Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: $5.00