Search
Close this search box.

NFHS Case Play 9.11.2 Situation B

A1 shoots the ball and it enters the basket from above, but from outside the cylinder. A1’s hand loses contact with the ball before the ball enters the cylinder. However, on the follow-through, A1’s hand enters the cylinder and again contacts the ball.

Violation. It is not a violation for a player to have a hand within the cylinder above the basket provided it is not touching the ball. The rules do allow a player to carry the ball into the cylinder above the ring or place the ball into the basket itself. It is basket interference; however, when a player touches the ball or the basket when the ball is in or on the basket, or touches the ball while any portion of the ball is touching the cylinder directly above the basket and the player did not carry the ball into the cylinder or basket.

NFHS Rules Reference:

(4-6)

About

A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training

We Good?
Drop a Testimonial?

got
gear?

Get the Best Training
for your group

latest youtube

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!