NFHS Case Play 9.1.3 Situation J

During a free throw by A1, B1 is positioned just behind the three-point line at the top of the semicircle. Is B1’s position legal and what restrictions are in effect on B1?

The position of B1 is legal. B1 may move freely but may not break the vertical plane of the three-point line and the free-throw line extended with either foot until after the ball touches the ring or until the free throw has ended.

NFHS Rules Reference:

(9-1-3f PENALTY 1)

About

A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training

got
gear?

Get the Best Training
for your group

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!

Default Coffee Donation Form

$
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: $5.00