Close this search box.

NFHS Case Play 9.1.3 Situation F

A1 steps on the free-throw line before releasing the ball in an attempt, after which B1 disconcerts.

The ball became dead when A1 violated by stepping on the line, therefore, the action of B1 is not a violation. The ball is awarded to Team B out of bounds at the spot nearest the violation.

NFHS Rules Reference:

(7-5-2; 9-1-3e PENALTY 1)


A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training

We Good?
Drop a Testimonial?


Get the Best Training
for your group

latest youtube

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!