Close this search box.

NFHS Case Play 9.1.3 Situation E

After A1 starts the free-throw motion, B1 commits a common foul on A2 along the lane before the bonus rule is in effect.

Even if the foul occurs before the ball is in flight, the throw counts if successful. No substitute try is awarded if the throw is missed. In either case, whether the throw is made or missed, the ball is awarded to Team A at the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the foul occurred. If, in the opinion of the official, A1 has been distracted, a substitute throw shall be awarded if the try is unsuccessful.

NFHS Rules Reference:

(4-11, 9-1-3c PENALTY 2)


A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training

We Good?
Drop a Testimonial?


Get the Best Training
for your group

latest youtube

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!