Search
Close this search box.

NFHS Case Play 9.1.3 Situation D

The ball is at the disposal of free thrower A1. B1, within the visual field of A1:
(a) raises his/her arms above the head; or
(b) after his/her arms have been extended above the head, alternately opens and closes both hands.

B1 may be penalized in both
(a) and
(b). The official must judge whether the act distracts the free thrower. If the official judges the act in either
(a) or
(b) to be disconcerting, it shall be penalized. The free thrower is entitled to protection from being distracted. It is the opponent’s responsibility to avoid disconcerting the free thrower.

NFHS Rules Reference:

(9-1-3c PENALTY 2)

About

A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training

We Good?
Drop a Testimonial?

got
gear?

Get the Best Training
for your group

latest youtube

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!