...

NFHS Case Play 9.1.1

A1, at the free-throw line to attempt a free throw:
(a) muffs the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or
(b) while performing his/her habitual dribbles prior to the release, accidentally allows the ball to deflect off his/her foot into the lane.

In
(a), the official should sound the whistle to prevent any violations and then start the free throw procedure again. No free-throw violation should be ruled in this situation. In
(b), a free-throw violation shall be called on A1.

NFHS Rules Reference:

(9-1-3a, 9-1-3e)

Got question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!

Default Coffee Donation Form

$
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: $5.00