Search
Close this search box.

NFHS Case Play 8.6.1

A1 is about to attempt the first of a one-and-one free-throw situation. The administering official steps in and erroneously informs players that two free throws will be taken. A1’s first attempt is unsuccessful. The missed free throw is rebounded by:
(a) B1, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw;
(b) A2, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; or
(c) B2, with several players from both teams attempting to secure the rebound. The officials recognize their error at this point.

In
(a) and
(b), the official’s error clearly put one team at a disadvantage (players stood motionless and didn’t attempt to rebound). Play should be ruled dead immediately and resumed using the alternating-possession procedure. In
(c), both teams made an attempt to rebound despite the official’s error and had an equal opportunity to gain possession of the rebound. Play should continue.

NFHS Rules Reference:

(2-3; 2-10)

About

A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training

We Good?
Drop a Testimonial?

got
gear?

Get the Best Training
for your group

latest youtube

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!