Search
Close this search box.

NFHS Case Play 7.5.7 Situation F

A1 is fouled during an unsuccessful try and is awarded two free throws. While A1’s successful first free throw is in flight, A2 fouls B1 along the lane. Team B is not in the bonus. The lane is cleared for A1’s second attempt. A1 then violates by having a foot through the free-throw-line plane prematurely.

The free-throw violation by A1 cancels the second attempt. Since Team B is not in the bonus, it results in a designated spot throw-in from the nearest spot out of bounds from where A2’s foul occurred. Team B may not move along the end line as the last free throw was unsuccessful.

NFHS Rules Reference:

(9-1-3e)

About

A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training

We Good?
Drop a Testimonial?

got
gear?

Get the Best Training
for your group

latest youtube

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!