...

NFHS Case Play 7.5.3

An official sounds his/her whistle inadvertently:
(a) while A1 is dribbling and in player control;
(b) while the pass is in flight from A1 (in A’s backcourt) to A2 (in A’s frontcourt);
(c) while A1’s unsuccessful three-point try attempt is in flight; or
(d) while A’s successful try attempt is in flight.

The ball is put in play at the point of interruption. In
(a), Team A is awarded a throw-in at the nearest out-of-bounds spot to where the ball was when the whistle was inadvertently sounded. In
(b), since the ball is being passed among teammates and is in flight, it retains the same location as when it was last in contact with A1 in Team A’s backcourt. Therefore, Team A is awarded a throw-in at the nearest out-of-bounds spot to where A1 was when the whistle was sounded. In
(c) and
(d), the ball does not become dead until the try ends. In
(c), since there is no team control when the ball becomes dead, the ball is put in play by the team entitled to the throw-in using the alternating-possession procedure at a spot nearest to where A1 was last in contact with ball when the whistle was sounded. In
(d), since a goal has been scored by Team A, the ball is given to Team B for a throw-in anywhere along the end line.

NFHS Rules Reference:

(7-4-4; 4-4-3; 4-12-3,6; 4-36)

Got question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!

Default Coffee Donation Form

$
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: $5.00