NFHS Case Play 7.1.2 Situation C

A1 is dribbling in Team A’s backcourt when the ball is deflected by B1. The ball gets away and contacts a child who is
(a) walking inbounds (on the playing court); or
(b) walking out of bounds. The official sounds the whistle.

In
(a), the ball is not out of bounds since the person contacted, the child, was inbounds. However, for safety reasons the official should stop play and resume from the point of interruption. Team A, the team last in control, will be awarded a throw-in at a spot nearest to where the ball was located when play was interrupted. B1 has committed an out-of-bounds violation in
(b).

NFHS Rules Reference:

(4-36; 7-2-1)

Default Coffee Donation Form

$
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: $5.00

Got question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!

Default Coffee Donation Form

$
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: $5.00