Search
Close this search box.

NFHS Case Play 7.1.1 Situation D

A1 jumps from inbounds to retrieve an errant pass near a boundary line. A1 catches the ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court. A1 lands out of bounds and
(a) is the first to touch the ball after returning inbounds;
(b) returns inbounds and immediately dribbles the ball; or
(c) picks up the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble.

Legal in
(a) and
(b). Illegal in
(c) as the controlled toss of the ball to the court by A1 constitutes the start of a dribble, dribbling a second time after picking up the ball is an illegal dribble violation.

NFHS Rules Reference:

(4-15-5; 4-15-6d; 4-35; 9-5)

About

A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training

We Good?
Drop a Testimonial?

got
gear?

Get the Best Training
for your group

latest youtube

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!