Search
Close this search box.

NFHS Case Play 7.1.1 Situation A

A1, while holding the ball inbounds near the sideline, touches
(a) player B1;
(b) a photographer;
(c) a coach;
(d) an official, all of whom are out of bounds.

A1 is not out of bounds in
(a),
(b),
(c) or
(d). To be out of bounds, A1 must touch the floor or some object on or outside a boundary line. People are not considered to be objects and play continues. Inadvertently touching someone who is out of bounds, without gaining an advantage, is not considered a violation.

About

A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training

We Good?
Drop a Testimonial?

got
gear?

Get the Best Training
for your group

latest youtube

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!