Search
Close this search box.

NFHS Case Play 6.7.7

As the hand of A1 contacts the ball to tap it toward Team A’s basket, B1 fouls A1. The ball definitely is not airborne from the hand of A1 when the contact occurs, but the tapped ball goes into the basket.

The foul does not cause the ball to become dead immediately. The subsequent tap of the ball results in a goal, the same as a try for goal. The foul is penalized the same as being fouled in the act of shooting. Continuous motion does apply to a tap.

NFHS Rules Reference:

(4-11; 4-41-2, 5)

About

A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training

We Good?
Drop a Testimonial?

got
gear?

Get the Best Training
for your group

latest youtube

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!