Search
Close this search box.

NFHS Case Play 6.3.7

During a jump ball:
(a) jumper A1 touches the ball simultaneously with both hands, then touches the ball with the right hand followed by the left hand; or
(b) jumpers A1 and B1 do not touch the ball until one or both have returned to the floor.

In
(a), the initial simultaneous touching counts as the first touch, touching the ball then with the right hand is the second touch and is legal. When A1 touches the tossed ball a third time with the left hand, a violation for touching the ball more than twice has occurred. In
(b), it is legal; however, if the tossed ball contacts the floor without being touched, the official shall toss it again.

About

A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training

We Good?
Drop a Testimonial?

got
gear?

Get the Best Training
for your group

latest youtube

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!