...

NFHS Case Play 5.8.3 Situation E

A1 is dribbling the ball in his/her backcourt when:

(a) the Team B head coach requests and is erroneously granted a time-out by an official; or
(b) the Team A head coach is yelling “side out” offensive instructions to his/her team and the official stops play believing the coach requested a time-out.
In (a), Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was requested and granted; once granted it cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams. Play will resume with a Team A throw-in nearest to where play was stopped.
In (b), an inadvertent whistle has occurred. Team A was not requesting a time-out, and therefore, should not be granted or charged with one. Play is resumed at the point of interruption.

NFHS Rules Reference:

 

 

 

 

(4-36-1; 4-36-2a)

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!

Default Coffee Donation Form

$
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: $5.00