NFHS Case Play 5.8.3 Situation A

A1 fouls B1. The official who made the ruling moves toward the reporting area. A2 immediately signals the free official for a time-out. Momentarily thereafter, the scorer notifies the ruling official that A1 has fouled out.

A1 must be replaced before the time-out is granted. COMMENT: The first responsibility the ruling official has is to report the foul to the scorer. Officials should not be hasty in granting an immediate time-out after the game has reached a point that players may begin to foul out. Rather, they should take a second or two after reporting the foul to see if the scorer may report a disqualification.

NFHS Rules Reference:

(2-8-4; 10-5-2)

Default Coffee Donation Form

$
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: $5.00

Got question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!

Default Coffee Donation Form

$
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: $5.00