...

NFHS Case Play 5.6.2 Situation H

Team A is leading 61-60. B1 fouls A1 in the act of shooting as time expires. As the officials approach the scorer’s table, the Team A coach rushes the floor and begins screaming obscenities at the officials.

A flagrant technical foul is assessed to the Team A coach. The foul at the expiration of time is no longer ignored. The flagrant technical foul on the Team A coach created a false double foul situation, which may affect the outcome of the game. The penalties are administered in the order in which they occurred. With the lane cleared, A1 shoots two free throws for being fouled in the act of shooting. If both are successful, the game is over. If one or both are missed, an eligible player from Team B shoots the two technical foul free throws. The free throws will determine the outcome of the game or an extra period will be played. COMMENT: Jurisdiction of the officials is terminated when all officials leave the visual confines of the playing area. While the preferred action would be for all officials to immediately leave the playing area, such an observable action by the coach should be penalized as unsporting or flagrant.

NFHS Rules Reference:

(4-19-9, 5-6-2 EXCEPTION 3, 10-5-1c)

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!

Default Coffee Donation Form

$
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: $5.00