Search
Close this search box.

NFHS Case Play 5.2.5 Situation B

With three-tenths of a second or less left in the first half, Team B has been charged with only four team fouls. A1 is at the free throw line for one free throw. A1’s shot hits the ring and bounds off. A2 legally taps the ball toward the basket and is fouled by B3. The ball had left A2’s hand and the foul occurred before the end-of-period signal. The tap is unsuccessful.

B3’s foul is considered in the “act of tapping” and will result in two free throws for A2. The lane will be cleared and the period ends after A2’s free throw attempts.

NFHS Rules Reference:

(4-41-1,5,6,7)

About

A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training

We Good?
Drop a Testimonial?

got
gear?

Get the Best Training
for your group

latest youtube

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!