Close this search box.

NFHS Case Play 5.10.1 Situation E

Team A scores a goal to lead by four points with 10 seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. Team B then quickly scores with approximately five seconds remaining; now trailing by two points. Team A expects to withhold the ball out of bounds for the throw-in with the time remaining (less than five seconds). The timer mistakenly stops the clock shortly following the Team B goal; the game clock reads 4.0 seconds remaining. The official sounds the whistle,
(a) immediately to address the timing mistake;
(b) after reaching a throw-in count of three to address the timing mistake; or
(c) upon reaching a five-second throw-in count on Team A.

(a) and
(b), Team A will have a throw-in from anywhere along the end line with
(a) no change to the game clock; and
(b) the game clock corrected to display 1.0 seconds. In
(c), the game is over as time has expired. COMMENT: An official’s count may be used to correct a timing mistake.

NFHS Rules Reference:



A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training

We Good?
Drop a Testimonial?


Get the Best Training
for your group

latest youtube

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!