Close this search box.

NFHS Case Play 4.44.5 Situation C

A1 secures possession of the ball with one knee in contact with the floor. May A1 assume a standing position without committing a traveling violation?

It depends on what A1 does. If A1 attempts to stand up while holding the ball, a traveling violation occurs. However, if A1 starts a dribble and then rises, no violation has occurred. Also, A1 could pass, try for goal or request a time-out from that position.


A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training

We Good?
Drop a Testimonial?


Get the Best Training
for your group

latest youtube

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!