Close this search box.

NFHS Case Play 4.19.9 Situation B

B1 holds A1, whose team is in the bonus. A1 is successful in both free-throw attempts. While B1 is making the throw-in from behind the end line, A1 pushes B2 near midcourt. Team B is or is not in the bonus situation.

If Team B is in the bonus, B2 is either awarded a one-and-one and the ball remains in play if either free-throw attempt touches the basket ring but is not successful, or is awarded two free throws and the ball remains in play if the second is unsuccessful. If the last free-throw attempt by B2 is successful, Team A shall put the ball in play from out of bounds anywhere along the end line by B’s basket. If Team B is not in the bonus, it is awarded the ball for a throw-in from a designated spot out of bounds nearest to where the foul occurred. Penalties are administered in the order in which the fouls occurred.

NFHS Rules Reference:



A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training

We Good?
Drop a Testimonial?


Get the Best Training
for your group

latest youtube

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!