...

NFHS Case Play 4.19.8 Situation E

A1 has control of the ball in Team A’s frontcourt. Post players A5 and B5 are pushing each other in an attempt to gain a more advantageous position on the block while
(a) A1 is dribbling the ball;
(b) the ball is in the air on a pass from A1 to A2; or
(c) the ball is in the air on an unsuccessful try for goal by A1. An official rules a double personal foul on A5 and B5.

In
(a) and
(b), Team A had control of the ball when the double foul occurred, and thus play will be resumed at the point of interruption. Team A will have a designated spot throw-in nearest the location where the ball was located when the double foul occurred. In
(c), no team has control while a try for goal is in flight, and since the try was unsuccessful, there is no obvious point of interruption. Play will be resumed with an alternating possession throw-in nearest the location where the ball was located when the double foul occurred. Had the try been successful, the point of interruption would have been a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line.

NFHS Rules Reference:

(4-36; 7-5-3b)

Got question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!

Default Coffee Donation Form

$
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: $5.00