Search
Close this search box.

NFHS Case Play 4.15.4 Situation C

After dribbling and coming to a stop, A1 throws the ball:
(a) against the opponent’s backboard and catches the rebound;
(b) against an official, immediately recovers the ball and dribbles again; or
(c) against his/her own backboard in an attempt to score (try), catches the rebound and dribbles again.

A1 has violated in both
(a) and
(b). Throwing the ball against the opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. In
(c), the action is legal. Once the ball is released on the try, there is no player or team control, therefore, A1 can recover the rebound and begin a dribble.

About

A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training

We Good?
Drop a Testimonial?

got
gear?

Get the Best Training
for your group

latest youtube

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!