Search
Close this search box.

NFHS Case Play 4.15.4 Situation B

A1, while advancing the ball by dribbling, manages to keep a hand in contact with the ball until it reaches its maximum height. A1 maintains such contact as the ball descends, pushing it to the floor at the last moment; however, after six or seven bounces, A1’s hand is in contact with the ball and the palm of the hand on this particular dribble is skyward so that the ball is resting on top of the hand.

The dribble has ended and a violation occurs if A1 dribbles again. The dribble ended when the ball came to rest in the palm of A1’s hand.

NFHS Rules Reference:

(9-5)

About

A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training

We Good?
Drop a Testimonial?

got
gear?

Get the Best Training
for your group

latest youtube

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!