Close this search box.

NFHS Case Play 4.15.1 Situation C

A1 attempts a pass to A2 during pressing action in A’s backcourt. The ball hits B’s backboard and deflects directly back to A1 who catches the ball and:
(a) passes the ball to A2; or
(b) starts a dribble.

The pass against B’s backboard was the start of a dribble which ended when A1 caught the ball. In
(a), the pass is legal action. In
(b), it is a violation for a second dribble.

NFHS Rules Reference:

(4-4-5; 9-5)


A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training

We Good?
Drop a Testimonial?


Get the Best Training
for your group

latest youtube

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!