NFHS Case Play 4.14.1 Situation B

A1 is charged with his/her fourth personal foul and reacts by using profanity. The covering official charges A1 with a technical foul.

A1 is disqualified. The technical foul brings A1’s total fouls to five, which results in automatic disqualification. This technical is not charged indirectly to the head coach, as A1 was not “bench personnel” when the technical foul was charged.

NFHS Rules Reference:

(4-14-2, 10-4-6b)


A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training


Get the Best Training
for your group

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!

Default Coffee Donation Form

Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: $5.00