Close this search box.

NFHS Case Play 4.12.1 Situation A

A1 drives toward the lane and goes up in the air for a jump shot. Before A1 becomes airborne, B1 obtains a legal position on the court that is directly in line with A1’s drive.
(a) Before; or
(b) after releasing the ball, A1 illegally contacts B1. In both cases, the ball goes through the basket.

A1 has committed a player-control foul in both
(a) and
(b). There is no goal in either case. Player-control foul provisions in
(b) continue until airborne shooter A1 returns one foot to the floor. Team B is awarded the ball for a throw-in at the out-of-bounds spot nearest the foul.

NFHS Rules Reference:



A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training

We Good?
Drop a Testimonial?


Get the Best Training
for your group

latest youtube

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!