Search
Close this search box.

NFHS Case Play 3.4.3 Situation B

A7 reports to the official scorer to enter the game wearing a jersey with the No. 7, which is the number listed in the scorebook. A7
(a) enters the game and participates;
(b) changes into a legal jersey and enters the game later; or
(c) goes back to the bench and never enters the game.

In
(a), a direct technical foul is charged to the Team A head coach for the illegal uniform. Team B is awarded two free throws and a division-line throw-in, and the Team A head coach loses his/her coaching-box privileges. In
(b), a number must be changed in the scorebook. Therefore, Team A is assessed a team technical foul when the change occurs, but the coach does not lose his/her coaching-box privileges. In
(c), no penalty is assessed when the player never enters the game and the scorebook is unaltered.

NFHS Rules Reference:

(10-1-2c, 10-6-4)

About

A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training

We Good?
Drop a Testimonial?

got
gear?

Get the Best Training
for your group

latest youtube

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!