NFHS Case Play 3.3.3 Situation B

Team B is charged with a technical foul for an excess time-out. During this stopped-clock interval, A1 is replaced by A6. A1 then returns to the game and attempts the two free throws which are:
(a) both successful;
(b) both unsuccessful; or
(c) one is successful and one is not.

Once A1 re-entered, even illegally, and the ball became live, A1 was a legal player at that point. The resulting action in
(b) and
(c) stands. The situation does not come under the provisions of the correctable-error rule, nor is there any provision for penalizing either Team A or A1.

NFHS Rules Reference:

(3-3-4; 8-3)


A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training


Get the Best Training
for your group

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!

Default Coffee Donation Form

Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: $5.00