Team B is charged with a technical foul for an excess time-out. During this stopped-clock interval, A1 is replaced by A6. A1 then returns to the game and attempts the two free throws which are:
(a) both successful;
(b) both unsuccessful; or
(c) one is successful and one is not.
Once A1 re-entered, even illegally, and the ball became live, A1 was a legal player at that point. The resulting action in
(c) stands. The situation does not come under the provisions of the correctable-error rule, nor is there any provision for penalizing either Team A or A1.
A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.