Close this search box.

NFHS Case Play 2.10.6 Situation A

A1 is fouled by B1. It is a non-shooting personal foul. It is Team B’s 7th foul of the half, but the official scorer fails to notify the officials and they award Team A the ball out of bounds. After the inbound pass, Team A misses a shot and Team B secures the rebound. Team B then misses a shot at their offensive end, and A1 secures the rebound. A1 requests and is granted a time-out. During the time-out, the officials are informed that Team A should have been awarded a bonus free throw situation on its previous possession.

The error can still be corrected. A1 shoots a bonus free throw situation with no players on the lane. Team A is then awarded the ball out of bounds nearest the spot where the time-out was requested. Since the error involves the failure to award a merited free-throw(s) and there has been a change in team possession, play shall be resumed from the point at which it was interrupted, after the error has been rectified.


A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training

We Good?
Drop a Testimonial?


Get the Best Training
for your group

latest youtube

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!