NFHS Case Play 10.7.9

Dribbler A1 has established a straight-line path toward a certain area of the court. Can A1 maintain this specific path?

Only to the extent that no opponent who is behind or to the side can crowd A1 out of this path. Opponents may attempt to obtain a legal guarding position in A1’s path at any time. To obtain an initial legal guarding position, both feet of the guard must be on the court and the guard must be facing the dribbler prior to contact. Time and distance are not factors in obtaining an initial guarding position on an opponent with the ball. Once legal position is obtained, the guard can move to maintain position in the dribbler’s path. The requirement of having two feet on the court does not apply in maintaining a legal guarding position, provided the guard maintains in-bound status.

NFHS Rules Reference:

(4-23)

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!

Default Coffee Donation Form

$
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: $5.00