NFHS Case Play 10.7.1 Situation D

A1 is running toward Team A’s goal but is looking back to receive a pass. B1 takes a position in the path of A1 while A1 is 10 feet away from B1.
(a) A1 runs into B1 before receiving the ball; or
(b) A1 receives the ball and before taking a step contacts B1.

In both
(a) and
(b), A1 is responsible for contact. In
(a), B1’s position is legal if A1 has been given two strides prior to contact. In
(b), since the position of B1 is legal when A1 has the ball, the contact is charging by A1.

NFHS Rules Reference:

(4-40)

Default Coffee Donation Form

$
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: $5.00

Got question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!

Default Coffee Donation Form

$
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: $5.00