NFHS Case Play 10.7.1 Situation B

A1, in attempting to screen, takes a stationary position in the path of moving B1. The position of A1:
(a) is so close that B1 cannot avoid A1 and contact results; or
(b) is far enough away so that B1, who is aware of the position of A1, has an opportunity to avoid A1 but contact still results.

(a), the foul is on A1 for blocking. In
(b), B1 did not use the opportunity to avoid A1 and, therefore, is responsible for the contact and is charged with the foul.

NFHS Rules Reference:



A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training


Get the Best Training
for your group

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!

Default Coffee Donation Form

Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: $5.00