Close this search box.

NFHS Case Play 10.5.4 Situation C

Following a charged time-out the ball is bounced to A1 for a throw-in even though Team B is still gathered at the sideline. The substitutes are off the bench and the coaches are huddled around the seated players. Should Team B be charged with a technical foul(s) for substitutes and coaches being off the bench or outside the optional coaching box?

No. The resumption-of-play procedure takes precedence and no penalty is assessed for the other sideline infractions.


A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training

We Good?
Drop a Testimonial?


Get the Best Training
for your group

latest youtube

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!