...

NFHS Case Play 10.4.4

A1 tries for a goal, and
(a) B1 jumps and attempts to block the shot but instead slaps or strikes the backboard and the ball goes into the basket; or
(b) B1 vibrates the ring as a result of pulling on the net and the ball does not enter the basket.

In
(a) legal and the basket counts; and
(b) a technical foul is charged to B1 and there is no basket. COMMENT: The purpose of the rule is to penalize intentional contact with the backboard while a shot or try is involved or placing a hand on the backboard to gain an advantage. A player who strikes either backboard so forcefully it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration may be assessed a technical foul pursuant to Rule 10-4-3.

Default Coffee Donation Form

$
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: $5.00

Got question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!

Default Coffee Donation Form

$
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: $5.00