...

NFHS Case Play 10.4.3 Situation D

Only a few seconds remain in the second quarter. Team A is advancing the ball from backcourt to frontcourt. A1 is driving toward his/her basket and is about to dunk the ball when the signal indicates the end of the first half. Shortly after the signal, A1 dunks the ball and hangs on to the rim.

A1 is assessed a technical foul for dunking a dead ball. The foul is also charged indirectly to the head coach and results in the loss of coaching-box privileges since A1 is considered bench personnel. The third quarter begins with Team B being awarded two free throws and the ball at the division line. The alternating-possession arrow is not affected and remains unchanged.

NFHS Rules Reference:

(4-34-2; 5-6-2 EXCEPTION 4)

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!

Default Coffee Donation Form

$
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: $5.00