...

NFHS Case Play 10.4.3 Situation A

A1 is dribbling rapidly toward A’s basket and appears to have an uncontested opportunity to score. B1 comes in quickly from the side and violently undercuts A1 who is in the act of shooting. A1 momentarily grasps the ring to regain balance and avoid injury.

A1 is not penalized for grasping the ring, as it clearly was done to prevent possible injury. B1 is charged with a flagrant personal foul and is disqualified. Whether the try was successful or not, A1 is awarded two free throws with no players along the lane. Following the last throw, Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in at the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the foul occurred.

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!

Default Coffee Donation Form

$
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: $5.00