Close this search box.

NFHS Case Play 10.4.1 Situation A

After a field goal, A1 has the ball out of bounds for a throw-in. Thrower A1 holds the ball:
(a) B2 crosses the boundary line and fouls A1; or
(b) B2 reaches through the out-of-bounds plane and touches the ball while in the hands of A1.

It is an intentional personal foul in
(a), and a technical foul in
(b). In
(a), such a contact foul with the thrower during a throw-in shall be considered intentional, or if it is violent, it should be ruled flagrant. COMMENT: Either act is a foul and it should be ruled as such whenever it occurs during a game without regard to time or score or whether the team had or had not been warned for a delay-of-game situation. If the player making the throw-in (A1) reaches through the out-of-bounds plane into the court and B1 then slaps the ball from the hand of A1, no violation has occurred. B1 has merely slapped a live ball from the hands of A1.

NFHS Rules Reference:

(4-19-3, 4-19-4, 9-2-10 PENALTY 3, 9-2-10 PENALTY 4)


A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training

We Good?
Drop a Testimonial?


Get the Best Training
for your group

latest youtube

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!