Search
Close this search box.

NFHS Case Play 10.2.4

Immediately following a goal or free throw by Team A, A1 inbounds the ball to A2 and A2 subsequently throws the ball through A’s basket.

The following procedure has been adopted to handle this specific situation if it is recognized before the opponents gain control or before the next throw-in begins:
(a) charge Team A with an unsporting technical foul;
(b) assess a delay-of-game warning for interfering with the ball after a goal;
(c) cancel the field goal;
(d) cancel any common foul(s) committed and any non-flagrant foul against A2 in the act of shooting; and
(e) put “consumed” time back on the clock. COMMENT: If there is no doubt the throw-in was a result of confusion, the entire procedure would be followed except no unsporting team technical foul would be charged. A team technical would be assessed if the team had received a previous delay warning. This procedure shall not be used in any other throw-in situation in which an official administers the throw-in and a mistake allows the wrong team to inbound the ball.

NFHS Rules Reference:

(4-47-3, 7-6-6, 10-2-1b)

About

A Better Official creates video content to help basketball officials get better and take control of their officiating career.

Video Training

We Good?
Drop a Testimonial?

got
gear?

Get the Best Training
for your group

latest youtube

have a rules question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!