Team Control in High School Basketball – Episode 13

team control in high school basketball

It is absolutely critical that we understand team control in the game of basketball. When does team control start and when does team control end? How does team control start? And how does team control end? This is a critical, fundamental, basic understanding that we have to have as basketball officials.

Share This Show Episode

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Show Notes

It is absolutely critical that we understand team control in the game of basketball. When does team control start and when does team control end? How does team control start? And how does team control end? This is a critical, fundamental, basic understanding that we have to have as basketball officials.

test your rules knowledge

Special thanks to our Show Supporters:

  • Brett Green
  • Wah Law
  • Alonzo Maxwell
  • Quwan Spears

Watch the Episode

Show Transcript

Greetings everyone, I am so stoked we’re back in the studio with another episode of the Basketball Rules Expert YouTube show. The show where we lift National Federation of High School Basketball Rules off of the printed page, we simplify, clarify, and amplify giving them back to you in a format you can take with you on to the basketball court where it’s most important. Greetings again everybody my name is Greg Austin with abetterofficial.com.. I’ve been a high school basketball official for over a decade, and I consider myself to be a Basketball Rules Expert. This show is helping you on your journey to becoming a basketball rules expert, as well. Before we get started on today’s show, let’s thank our show’s supporters.

  • Brett Green
  • Wah Law
  • Alonzo Maxwell
  • Quwan Spears

Much appreciated, and much love so appreciative of all the supporters of our show. If you want to be a supporter of the show, there’s a link in the show notes below. Today we’re going to be focusing on a few play scenarios that focus on resumption of play and team control.

Support the Show!

Enjoy the Show? Consider Buying us a Cup!

It is absolutely critical that we understand team control in the game of basketball. When does team control start and when does team control end? How does team control start? And how does team control end? This is a critical, fundamental, basic understanding that we have to have as basketball officials. Alright, let’s get started with our very first place scenario. 

 

A1 has the ball for a throw-in the throw-in pass deflects off of A2 as A2 and B2 are attempting to retrieve the ball. A to illegally pushes B2 from behind, and is ruled for a foul. Team B is in the bonus. The officials rule that B2 is awarded bonus free throws, where the officials Correct, yes or no. Let’s start by looking at Rule 4 – Section 12 Control Player and Team. 

Article 1, a player is in control of the ball when he or she is holding or dribbling a live ball. That is something you must have a firm grasp on the rules of High School basketball. Player control is established by a player holding or dribbling the basketball. Simple & straightforward. I own that. It’s in my pocket. It goes out with me on the court every single time. A basic fundamental concept. Turning to Rule Four, the most important rule for new basketball officials, we’re going to build upon that and have a firmer understanding of team control. 

Article 1: also says there is no player control when during a jump ball, a jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor, or a non jumper, or during an interrupted dribble. Which is an important concept, but the most important concept, a player is in control of the ball when he or she is holding or dribbling a live ball. 

Article 2: a team is in control of the ball, we have team control. 

  1. When a player of the team is in control. A player of the team in control would mean that it is a player, holding or dribbling the basketball. 
  2. While a live ball is being passed among teammates. So we have player control. We pass the ball to another player, while the ball is in flight, we have team control but no player control. And then when the player catches the pass. Now we have player control again. 
  3. During an interrupted dribble, we need to know the definition of uninterrupted dribble and 
  4. When a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in. 

Okay. D was added within the last decade, in an effort, National Federation of High School wanted fouls that occur during throw-ins to be team control fouls, no free throws being shot and a chance to speed up the game. The introduction of this one clause article two D, when a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in is causing a lot of confusion for High School basketball officials, there’s no way around it. Since the introduction of this clause. And fhs has been scrambling trying to herd the kittens and get a better understanding of the rule, hopefully we’ll get that today article three team control continues until. Okay, so once team control was established. How is it established by a player gaining control. Now we have, or a ball being handed at the disposal of a thrower for throw-in team control continues until 

  1. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal when a player releases a try. There is no longer team control by rule.
  2. An opponent secures control. how can the opponent secure control, they can hold or dribble the basketball. Those are the requirements in order for a player to gain control or
  3. The ball becomes dead, a violation, a foul, etc.

 

So, in our place scenario. A1 has the ball for throwing when the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower, there is team control. Okay. But understand this, the team control, that is given. During a throw-in is only there for the administration of a foul. If a foul were to occur. And fhs says we want this to be a team control foul. So we don’t shoot free throws and the game speeds up.It does not apply to whether or not a backward violation occurs. In order to do that we need team control on the court. It doesn’t apply to three seconds in the lane area, in order to have that we need team control in the front court. Okay, So, team control, only for the administration of fouls in our play A1 throws a throw-in past two A2 hits off their hand and is loose on the floor. B2 and A2 are both attempting to go get the ball, A2 pushes B2 and a foul is ruled Team B is in the bonus, but in this instance, since there was team control for the administration of fouls that we will not shoot bonus free throws. So we’re the officials correct? In this case, the answer was no. Let’s move on to our next play scenario. 

 

After A1’s try is released and is in flight. The official inadvertently blows their whistle. The ball hits the ring, but the try is unsuccessful. The possession arrow is pointed towards Team B. The officials rule that an alternating possession throw-in will be awarded to Team B. On the endline where the officials Correct, yes or no. A1 releases a try. The official has an inadvertent whistle maybe they thought there was an issue with the clock. Maybe they thought there was a timeout request for whatever reason, whistle is sounded the ball is in flight, the ball hits the ring but the try is unsuccessful. The ball is now dead, the adult ball did not become dead on the officials whistle because the try was in flight. The ball was still alive. The clock should be stopped. Ball is still alive until the try has ended. So, we know that team control has ended, because A1 released a try. When a try is released, there is no longer team control. 

 

How does team control end? 

by a try. 

By the opponent, gaining control, player control. Holding or dribbling the basketball or 

the ball becomes dead. 

 

In this instance team control ended when the trial was in flight. in this situation when we have a dead ball, we need to go to the possession arrow to determine who will have the resulting throw-in

in this instance the possession arrow is pointing to Team B, simple, the team Team B will get the throw-in on the sideline. Let’s quickly check rule 4-36. If we look at Article One method of resuming point of interruption is a method of resuming play due to an official’s inadvertent whistle and interrupted game, as in 5-4-3. A correctable error, as in 2-10-6 double personal double technical or simultaneous foul. So we have an inadvertent whistle and interrupted game might be a small child runs onto the floor and the official stopped the game. A correctable error will have a full and extensive masterclass on that in an upcoming episode. Any double power double foul double technical foul simultaneous foul, we would go to the point of interruption play must be resumed by one of the following methods, and see a jump ball or alternating possession throw-in when neither team is in control, and no goal infraction nor end of quarter extra period is involved when the game is interrupted. So the game wasn’t stopped because of a foul or a violation there so there’s no infraction, there’s no goal because the ball didn’t go in the basket and it’s not the end of a period. In this situation, how are we going to start the game. We’re going to go to point of interruption point of interruption will be, where did when did the trial, and the trial ended when the ball contacted the ring and missed. So at the spot nearest to where the trial ended. We’re going to have an alternating possession throw-in and get our game, moving. Next place scenario. A1’s legal throw-in is bouncing untouched in Team A is backward and official improperly whistles, a timeout for Team B is that timeout request granted the officials rule that Team B is granted the time out, and must take the time out. Play will resume with a team, a throw-in at the spot of the original throw-in worthy officials Correct, yes or no, let’s break down this play, it’s a great play. It just forces us to know the correct rules. Now if we didn’t know the correct rules, we can use common sense and go from there. Common sense though is often a bastion for when we don’t know the rules. So let’s learn the rules here and take them with us onto the basketball court. 

A throw-in pass is released, and it is bouncing untouched in the back court. The official here’s a timeout request turns grants the time now, then realizes that they have granted it to the team that was not in control, do we allow this timeout? In this instance we’re going to have to look to a Case Play. Case Plays from the National Federation of High School, bring up scenarios that aren’t necessarily found in the rules, and they say, if this happens. This is how we proceed. It’s filler in between the rules and case play carries as much weight as the actual rules themselves. Let’s look at National Federation of High School case play 5.8.3 situation,

he

A1 is dribbling the ball in his or her backcourt when Team B, head coach requests and is erroneously granted a timeout by the official. That sounds like our play or be the team, a head coach is yelling side out side out so that we often hear is basketball officials and can be confusing official hears side out turns and grants the timeout. The coach didn’t want the time now. So those are our two scenarios. The ruling in our play in a team B is entitled to use the timeout since it was requested And granted, even though they should not have been granted the official did grant the timeout request, and as a result they once granted, it cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges and rights permitted during a charge timeout are available to both teams play will resume with a team a throw-in nearest to where the play was stopped. Let’s also look at play scenario B, an inadvertent whistle has occurred.This is not saying this is this is describing this scenario the coach says, “5 Out! 5 Out!” The official turns grants the time now. Coach didn’t request the timeout. This is an inadvertent whistle. In this case, the coach was not requesting a timeout and therefore should not be granted or charged with one play is resumed at the point of interruption. Actually both of these plays are going to be resumed at the point of interruption. What is the point of interruption? We need to know, we had a throw-in it was released by the thrower, and is bouncing untouched on the court, the whistle sounds the ball becomes dead. Whereas the resulting play, is it near where the ball was when the ball is dead. The point of interruption was a throw-in by Team A. has Team A completed the throw-in. When does a throw-in end? we have to know that a throw-in ends when it is touched legally by any player in bounce.Was this ball touched by any player in bounds, either offense or defense touched it. The throw-in has not ended our point of interruption therefore is a throw-in back at the original spot. So in this instance Team B officials rule that Team B is granted the timeout and must take the time out, and that is true. Play will resume with a team a throw-in at the spot of the original throw it, where the official is correct. In this instance, yes. Yes, they were. 

 

Let’s look at our next play scenario, A3 is awarded a one and one bonus after being fouled Team B is granted a timeout prior to the free throw administration upon return the administrating official incorrectly tells both teams. Two shots, a three misses the first free throw and the ball is not rebounded all players remain standing alone the free throw lane lines motionless in anticipation of another free throw. The officials, then realize their error. 

 

The officials rule that the ball will be awarded to the team with the arrow for an alternating possession, throw-in. 

 

Were the officials correct? Yes or No?

 

It is the front end of a one and one. The players fouled bonus one on one, either coach requests a timeout and the timeout is granted. The officials, remembering that it’s not not time to take a break from the game, communicate, that is now they didn’t do that.And so we’ve got an opportunity for officials to make a mistake. We didn’t have good communication in the crew, obviously, or there was confusion about whether it should be one on one. But, in any of it and in any event when the players come out. And we’re going to resume play if isn’t with sound there whistle and begin administration of the free throws. In this instance should be one on one, but in the official erroneously says two throws bounce the ball to the player shot misses players, anticipating, I mean the ref said there was two free throws. Stand motionless and the ball drops to the floor. So what do we have, we have a dead ball, whose ball is it. The player missed the front end of the one on one. If we glance at rule six dash for alternating possession article three alternating possession throw-ins must be from the out of bounds spot nearest to where the ball was located and alternating possession throw-in must result

when we look at f. The point of interruption cannot be determined as in 4-36-2-c. And that goes back to our good friend. a jump ball or alternating possession throw-in when neither team is in control, and no goal infraction nor end of the quarter or extra period is involved when the game is interrupted. So the game has stopped. There’s no team control and no indication of who should get the ball so as a result we will go to the alternating possession arrow. For the resulting throw-in the spot will be nearest to where the try ended, so it’ll be an endline throw-in for the team with the arrow. So in the back in our original scenario the officials believe that the ball will be awarded to the team with the arrow for an alternating possession throw-in, where the officials correct. In this instance, yes. Yes, they were. Hey, thanks so much for joining us today on basketball rules expert, the YouTube show that’s all about helping you become a better basketball referee. If this content is valuable to you. It’s time now to do all the things, like, subscribe, and notify and also share the video content with other basketball officials who you think could gain value as well. If you want to be a supporter of the show, you can always buy us a coffee, there’s a link above and in the show notes below. And as always, we’ll have a quiz back at the website abetterofficial.com, there’ll be a link above in the show notes.

We have additional video content for you here. Choose wisely. And we’ll see you in the very next video. Thanks so much everybody. Take care.

Our Latest Episodes

Support the Show!

Enjoy the Show? Consider Buying us a Cup!

All Rights Reserved. A Better Official 2020.

Got question?

Submit a Question or Play Scenario!

Default Coffee Donation Form

$
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: $5.00

Default Coffee Donation Form

$
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: $5.00